Guardrails

The first time I heard this I was sitting in Hengshan church in Shanghai. They were announcing the new series by Andy Stanley. I never got through the series. I left Shanghai before it started and I never bothered to hear it online (you can check it out here).

But just now I was given a new guardrail – a curfew at night when driving by myself.

A part of me thought, I’m 29 years old. I’m perfectly capable of driving alone at night. Thankyouverymuch. Though a part of me knew that I needed to obey this. I live by myself in the province and no one waits up on me at night. What if I don’t come home? What if something happens to me? Maybe it’ll take days before my body is discovered in an isolated grassland somewhere south of the city.

My dad has never given us a curfew back in Manila. The rule is, as long as I come home. And there have been many times when I’ve decided to ignore this rule. Not that he waits up on us. I doubt that anyone even noticed.

But now I know better. I know I need this guardrail to protect me. Coming home late last Saturday, I was already feeling sleepy while driving and I believe my judgment was a bit compromised. I took a left turn too soon and the incoming car was speeding fast. I escaped grazing him by probably just a split second. I felt terrible afterwards. He’s probably cursing me every inch of the way til he got home. Way to go to bless someone, right?

God has placed plenty of guardrails in my life, whether I’m aware of them or not. It could be as simple as the shows I watch or as big as placing me in a city miles away from my family. It’s for my own protection. For my own good. Because He loves me.

And though I wanted to react at first, Huwaat?! 10pm?! That’s crazy early!! I paced myself for awhile. What’s so wrong with 10? I’m an introvert anyway. It’s the perfect excuse to slip out from a crowd. And besides, God would want me to obey him cheerfully.

So here we go. Any guardrails God is placing around you?

And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.” 2 Corinthians 5:15

Leave a Reply

